• WQTC 102.3

Blue Oyster Cult releasing archival 2014 concert album/video, reissuing Cult Classic album

Blue Oyster Cult is preparing a couple of interesting releases that will arrive on January 24, 2020: an archival concert album and video titled Hard Rock Live Cleveland 2014, and a reissue of the band's out-of-print 1994 studio album, Cult Classic.

Hard Rock Live Cleveland 2014, which captures an October 2014 show that Blue Oyster Cult played in the Cleveland suburb of Northfield, Ohio, will be available on Blu-ray as a two-CD/DVD package and as a three-LP vinyl set.

The concert featured a selection of songs from throughout the band's long history, including renditions of such classics as "Burnin' for You," "Godzilla" and, of course, "(Don't Fear) The Reaper."

The group's lineup at the show featured founding singer Eric Bloom and singer/guitarist Don "Buck Dharma" Roeser, longtime keyboardist/guitarist Richie Castellano, drummer Jules Radino and bassist Kasim Sulton, who's best known for his work with Todd Rundgren.

You can watch a video preview of the 2014 show, a clip of the band playing the 1974 tune "Harvester of Eyes," on the Frontiers Music label's YouTube channel.

Hard Rock Live Cleveland 2014 is the first in a series of live releases Blue Oyster Cult is planning to put out in 2020.

Meanwhile, the Cult Classic reissue boasts a remastered version of the album, which features updated recordings of 13 Blue Oyster Cult songs, including "Burnin' for You," "Godzilla" and "(Don't Fear) The Reaper." It will be available on CD and as a two-LP vinyl set.

In other news, Blue Oyster Cult has announced plans to release a new studio album in 2020, its first since 2001's Curse of the Hidden Mirror.

Here's the Hard Rock Live Cleveland 2014 CD track list:

CD 1 "O.D.'d on Life Itself" "The Red and the Black" "Golden Age of Leather" "Burnin' for You" "Career of Evil" "Shooting Shark" "The Vigil" "ME 262" "Buck's Boogie" "Black Blade"

CD 2 "Then Came the Last Days of May" "Godzilla" "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" "Harvester of Eyes" "I Love the Night" "Hot Rails to Hell" "Cities on Flame with Rock and Roll"

And here's Cult Classic track list:

"(Don't Fear) The Reaper" "E.T.I. (Extraterrestrial Intelligence)" "ME 262" "This Ain't the Summer of Love" "Burnin' for You" "O.D.'d on Life Itself" "Flaming Telepaths" "Godzilla" "Astronomy" "Cities on Flame with Rock 'n' Roll" "Harvester of Eyes" "Buck's Boogie" "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" (TV Mix) "Godzilla" (TV Mix)





Persons with disabilities needing assistance with public inspection file content should contact Jim Medley, 920-682-0351 or jimmedley@womtradio.com