• WQTC 102.3

Chicago, Roberta Flack, Isaac Hayes among Recording Academy's 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

Chicago, Roberta Flack and the late Isaac Hayes are among the artists receiving Lifetime Achievement Awards at the Recording Academy's 2020 Special Merit Awards ceremony, held April 18 in Pasadena, California.

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors "performers who have made outstanding contributions of artistic significance to the field of recording."

In describing why Chicago is deserving of the honor, a press release points out that the group is "among the first acts to bring big jazz band-style horns into rock music," and notes that "they have released five No. 1 albums and nearly three dozen Top 40 hits."

Flack is lauded for garnering "four Grammys, a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame and an everlasting musical legacy with songs such as 'Where Is the Love" and "Killing Me Softly with His Song.'"

The statement notes that as in-house songwriter/producer at Stax Records, Hayes "wrote such hits as 'Soul Man' and 'B-A-B-Y,' [and he] also had a successful solo career [that included] the Grammy-winning 'Theme from Shaft' in 1971."

"Our Special Merit Awards recipients have molded their musical passion into pieces of history that will continue to influence and inspire generations of music creators and music lovers to come," says Deborah Dugan, president and CEO of the Recording Academy.

The other 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award honorees include punk pioneer Iggy Pop, folk singer-songwriter John Prine, iconic hip-hop group Public Enemy, and late gospel/blues musician Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

The event also will feature the presentation of Trustees Awards to non-performers who have made their mark on the music industry.  The 2020 honorees include modern classical composer and pianist Philip Glass and late A&R scout Frank Walker, who discovered Hank Williams and Bessie Smith.





Persons with disabilities needing assistance with public inspection file content should contact Jim Medley, 920-682-0351 or jimmedley@womtradio.com