• WQTC 102.3

The Doobie Brothers' new live album, video documenting special Beacon Theatre concerts arrive today

The Doobie Brothers' new concert album and video Live from the Beacon Theatre hits stores today.  The set captures the veteran rockers playing their second and third albums, 1972's Toulouse Street and 1973's The Captain and Me, at the famous New York City venue.

The release was culled from two November 2018 shows and marked the first time the band performed any of their albums in their entirety live.

Doobie Brothers singer/guitarist Tom Johnston tells ABC Radio that preparing for the gigs was challenging because the group had never played a number of the songs live before, nor had they played sets that followed the exact song sequence of the albums.

"[I]t was interesting from many aspects," Johnston notes, "but I have to say, we pulled it off and it sounded really good."

One major highlight for Tom was the horn section that The Doobies employed on several tunes, including "Rockin' Down the Highway" and "China Grove," as well as on a reprise of "Listen to the Music," which closed the shows.

"We actually grabbed a couple of guys from Steely Dan [for the Beacon shows], and it just sounded awesome," Johnston declares. "Really a nice addition." (AUDIO IS ABC 1-ON-1)

Live from the Beacon Theatre is available as a two-CD set, a two-CD/DVD package, a Blu-ray and digitally.

Meanwhile, Johnston tells ABC Radio that The Doobie Brothers plan on scheduling similar concerts in two other U.S. cities this year, one on the West Coast and one in the Midwest.

The band's currently touring with Santana through late August, and then will begin a fall headlining trek in September.

Here's the Live from the Beacon Theatre CD track list:

Disc One: Toulouse Street "Listen to the Music" "Rockin' Down the Highway" "Mamaloi" "Toulouse Street" "Cotton Mouth" "Don't Start Me to Talkin'" "Jesus Is Just Alright" "White Sun" "Disciple" "Snake Man"

Disc Two: The Captain and Me "Natural Thing" Band Intros "Long Train Runnin'" "China Grove" "Dark Eyed Cajun Woman" "Clear as the Driven Snow" "Without You" "South City Midnight Lady" "Evil Woman" "Busted Down Around O'Connelly Corners" "Ukiah" "The Captain and Me"

Encore: "Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me)" "Black Water" "Listen to the Music" (Reprise)






Persons with disabilities needing assistance with public inspection file content should contact Jim Medley, 920-682-0351 or jimmedley@womtradio.com