• WQTC 102.3

Track list revealed of companion albums packaged with upcoming Grateful Dead Origins graphic novel

Some new details have been revealed about the upcoming Grateful Dead graphic novel, Grateful Dead Origins, which will be published in April 2020 and focuses on the group's formation and its emergence as one of America's most important and enduring bands.

The novel will be available as both a limited, oversized hard-cover deluxe edition and a standard soft-cover version, both of which will come with a code to download an exclusive 13-track companion compilation of early Grateful Dead recordings curated by the group's longtime archivist, David Lemieux(pr: leh-MYUH).

The album features selections from The Grateful Dead's first three studio albums -- 1967's Grateful Dead, 1968's Anthem of the Sun and 1969's Aoxomoxoa -- as well as from the Rare Cuts and Oddities 1966 rarities collection and from the 1966 disc of the 30 Trips Around the Sun archival box set.

The deluxe edition of Grateful Dead Origins also will come packaged with a vinyl LP featuring previously unreleased live recordings from an August 21, 1968, concert at the Fillmore West in San Francisco. The show included the group's first known West Coast performance of "St. Stephen."

Grateful Dead Origins boasts an original story written by Chris Miskiewicz (pr: miss-KEV-itch), with illustrations by Noah Van Sciver (pr: SKY-ver). The novel follows the group's transformation from a bar band named The Warlocks to the influential flag bearers of jam-band culture in the U.S.

The deluxe edition of the book is available for pre-order now at Z2Comics.com and Dead.net.

Here is the track list of the Grateful Dead Origins digital compilation:

"The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)" -- from Grateful Dead "Cream Puff War" -- from Rare Cuts and Oddities 1966 "Walking the Dog" -- from Rare Cuts and Oddities 1966 "Viola Lee Blues" -- from Road Trips 2/2/68 "Hey Little One" -- from Rare Cuts and Oddities 1966 "That's It for the Other One" -- from Anthem of the Sun "In the Midnight Hour" -- from the 1966 disc of 30 Trips Around the Sun "Standing on the Corner" -- from Rare Cuts and Oddities 1966 "China Cat Sunflower" -- from Aoxomoxoa "Big Railroad Blues" -- from Rare Cuts and Oddities 1966 "Morning Dew" -- from Grateful Dead "Keep Rolling By" -- from the 1966 disc of 30 Trips Around the Sun "Cosmic Charlie" -- from Aoxomoxoa

And here's the track list of the deluxe edition's live LP:

Side 1 "Dark Star" "St. Stephen"

Side 2 "The Eleven" "Death Don't Have No Mercy"






Persons with disabilities needing assistance with public inspection file content should contact Jim Medley, 920-682-0351 or jimmedley@womtradio.com